Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Company Store.

White Bay® Comforter

Premium European down comforter. Handcrafted in our La Crosse, WI factory of fine imported materials. 300-thread count combed cotton sateen cover is down proof and silky to the touch. Most down-proof sateen comforters are dry clean only, but we worked closely with one of the finest fabric mills available to develop a cotton sateen that’s both down-proof and machine washable. Hypoallergenic 600-650 fill power European down provides luxurious loft and warmth. A rigorous 6-step quality process ensures our down is hypoallergenic-exceeding government regulations for cleanliness. Stitched with 12” sewn-through box construction which prevents down from shifting. (Super Light and Super Light, Oversized have 8" inch boxes) Expertly finished with a double needle top-stitch. Available in 4 warmth levels- super-light, light, medium and extra-warmth weights. Oversized Queen and King sizes available fit extra-deep mattresses. Available in 6 beautiful colors – Silver Gray, Driftwood, Sterling Blue, Antique Gold, White and Ivory. Cotton sateen fabric is Oeko-Tex® certified to be free of all harmful substances and chemicals. Features corner loops that attach to corner ties in our duvet covers. Machine wash. Exclusively ours. Lifetime guarantee. Have it your way—you deserve it. Handcrafted in our La Crosse, Wisconsin factory, we’re offering White Bay® in a wide variety of weights, colors and sizes to create the comforter of your dreams. Packed with our 600–650-fill European down, it’s enveloped in our new down-proof 300-thread count combed cotton sateen shell that’s silky-soft and certified to meet eco-friendly, Oeko-Tex® standards. Expertly finished with a double needle top-stitch and sewn-through box construction which prevents down from shifting and provides even warmth. A rigorous 6-step quality and purification process ensures that our down is hypoallergenic. Available in 6 beautiful colors, 4 comfort weights and oversized Queen and King sizes to fit extra-deep mattresses. Choose our luxurious White Bay® oversized and supersized down duvet in a wide array of beautiful colors. Exclusively ours, you’ll only find this sumptuous White Bay® comforter at The Company Store®. Oversize Comforters are only available in sizes Queen and King.
Average Rating:
2.714 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews for White Bay® Comforter
Review 1 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable, Beautiful, and High Quality!
Date:February 10, 2016
By smk1
from New Hampshire
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love this comforter!  
We bought the ultra light in white, and it is the perfect weight for 3 season use.  We had previously tried the Alberta Baffled comforter because it was the top rated on TheSweethome website.  This was also a fantastic quality, but to warm for our needs.  We spoke with Customer Service and they pointed out that White Bay comforter has the same fabric that we love, but comes in ultra light, so we did an exchange.  It’s perfect!  The fabric feels luxurious and soft, and it is a joy to climb into bed each night.
I am a bit surprised that so many people have had issues with feathers/down coming out, because we have not seen a single feather in the 2 months we’ve had the comforter.  I would be very curious to know what color the comforters were of the people who were experiencing leaks.  I have done quite a bit of research on the subject, and more than one expert (yes, there are actually down comforter experts) suggest only buying white, because fabric with colors or patterns tend to leak and tear more due to the construct of the material.  I personally like the white because it feels like we’re staying in a luxurious hotel each night when we go to bed, but I understand why some would prefer another color.
In short, we love this comforter, and would recommend it without hesitation.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:26-35
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great and NO LEAKING
Date:January 29, 2016
By Andrey
from Denver, CO
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't normally write reviews, but since there were so many poor reviews of this comforter I thought I would chime in. I love this comforter. I have two of them - one is nearly two years old, the other I bought this season. They are queen sized, extra warmth, blue and grey. I have had no problems whatsoever with these comforters, They are warm, have a lovely fabric cover, and the down does not shift around. I haven't experienced any leaking other than the occasional stray feather that is to be expected from any down product. The only criticism I have is that, for the price, the comforter should come with a storage bag. 
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!
Date:March 29, 2015
By RGB2012
from FL
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 2 of theses quilts in Oversize King, Medium Warmth.
I have never had a feather come out...wash them all the time!
They are beautiful and I am returning for my third in a lighter weight!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2014
By Dodi
from Wisconsin
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this comforter.Just love it. We keep temp. in home at 60 at night and I can say I was toasty warm all night.The color purchased was driftwood and the color works with the rest of the room. It looks great on the bed, hangs over the edges just enough. I would definitely recommend this product.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:65 and over
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely but down comes out
Date:November 12, 2014
By Mothergoos3
from Florida
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a light weight, cozy, beautiful comforter BUT down comes out regularly. The company said to wait a few month and it should stop. I have been having it for 3 month...I wait and see what happens. 
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beautiful Color, Just OK overall though..
Date:February 25, 2015
By KateR
from Chicago
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have always had a down comforter from the Company Store, I got the White Bay Comforter about 9 months ago.  I love the look, the light grey is beautiful.  The only downfalls are that the down fill is inconsistent like another reviewer mentioned, I have empty corners in the comforter.  Also, whenever I wear black into bed I wake up covered in feather bits which is annoying.  I probably would return it, but I think its too late now. This is something I never experienced with the other comforters that I have had. 
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:26-35
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Didn't hold up to washington
Date:June 1, 2014
By janer
from Seattle, WA
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The comforter color wasn't exactly what I thought it would be given the (albeit very small) sample on the website. The silver grey is lighter than expected, and in some light conditions, almost looks white. But that isn't the main problem. It didn't hold up well to a wash. I followed the instructions explicitly: delicate detergent; in a large, front-loading, tumble washer; delicate setting). I gave it an extra rinse, again with a delicate spin. I dried it on low in a large capacity dryer. When I opened the dryer, it was awash in feathers and down. Feathers now poke up out of the fabric. This was disappointing as initially I thought it was high quality and appreciated that it was available over-sized. I don't think there are better quality ones available both over-sized and in colors. Too bad.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:46-55
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
31 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Inconsistent Fill
Date:October 22, 2014
By Mish
from Waterbury, VT
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I should say that I have been a happy Company Store customer since the late 90's. My first real down comforter came from the Company Store over 15 years ago and I loved that one until it died. The next one is about to die, so we decided to order another. We ordered the LaCrosse down comforter, but were unimpressed. It wasn't nearly as full as the medium from 10 years ago and it didn't seem super warm. I decided to try this one, and get the extra warmth. It is a wonderfully soft, sateen comforter. My problem is that the fill in this comforter is extremely inconsistent. One corner is COMPLETELY EMPTY of down and the corner across from it is full with NO WAY to shift the down. I will be sending both back... Bring back the OLD QUALITY!!!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:26-35
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
25 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst comforter I have ever owned!
Date:October 26, 2015
By vmarkham
from New york
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this comforter in April and within the first month of owning it the feathers began to fall out.  I thought it would get better with time but I have now had this comforter for 6 months and want nothing more then to throw it in the garbage.  The feathers are coming out in massive amount.  It is impossible to keep the bedroom clean because there are feathers everywhere!! They are all of my bed stands, dresser, on the edges on my floors and all over anything that is laying out (clothes, shoes).  I am extremely disappointed with this product especially when I think about how much money I spent on it.  This is my first time purchasing from the company store and it will surely be my last.  If anyone is thinking about buying this product....DON'T!!! It will be a waste of your money!!!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:Under 25
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leaky - Very very leaky!
Date:September 29, 2015
By mhammer
from Seattle
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this in a King about 1 year ago, with 2 king size down "Better" pillows. Everything we bought leaks down all over our bedroom. I kept thinking it would get better over time and with life being busy I never had the chance to return these, which is unfortunate, I wish I had. 1 year later, I'm actually surprised there is any down left! Yes this that bad! I have to vacuum every other day and my side tables are covered in down after 24 hours.
I've had pillows and downs from the company store in the past with no issue. This is by far the works. I strongly do not recommend this product!!!!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible purchase
Date:September 15, 2015
By ambrenna
from North Dakota
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a loyal TCS customer for many years. Very disappointed in this comforter. Within 2 weeks of using this feathers were coming out at an extremely high amount and continue. This was not cheap and expected feathers to stay.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never stopped leaking & afraid to buy another
Date:August 31, 2015
By Since96
from Wisconsin
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first TCS comforter I purchased was the European hi loft medium warmth back in 1997, a model no longer offered. Still using it today, never ever EVER leaks and always washes well returning to fluffiness after a tumble dry and fresh air outside on the laundry line. Always used without a duvet cover, durable, and blue color hasn't faded. However I keep the house very cold in winter and so in 2008 decided to go with the extra warmth White Bay so as to not need extra blankets with original. Also the idea was it was time to get what should have been an even more luxuriant cover as a treat for myself! What a disaster from day 1. Down everywhere right out of the box. I thought maybe that was just from the manufacturing. Fluffed in large front loading dryer after several days of air out as instructions suggested for new item. Yes it fluffed fantastically but still down everywhere. Bought a 300tc cover for it and this failed to keep the ever-leaking down contained. Down everywhere in the bedroom requiring detailed and time consuming dusting, vacuuming of the bedroom and lint rolling cover every 2-3 days. Not exaggerating it's really bad! Sorry but who has time for this? Washing didn't help. In fact it's a messy undertaking because even more down gets everywhere with amounts of it that didn't pollute the room collecting in the cover, getting all over when you remove it. Best done outdoors with fast placement into plastic tarp to contain now both comforter and down covered cover. After two years of this nonsense, I bought a TCS allergen proof cover. Expensive and only comes in white. This finally contained the leaking down so it wasnt all over the room BUT stuffing the comforter into this and trying to get that ensemble into a color cover flattens the loft somewhat, is now heavy to sleep with and the point was to not use extra blankets, and nothing actually fits properly and gets uncomfortably twisted up/displaced inside every few days -but better than down everywhere daily. Sadly washing any of the covers and the comforter was still a dreaded mess because once opened the down takes to the air like flakes in a sno globe . And after awhile you can't get the down off the covers even if completely separately laundered. So eventually you are back to down on inside and outside of everything. After once per year yes PROPER washings the comforter is STILL leaking profusely I finally couldn't take it anymore and everything went into the dumpster, unclean able due to down clinging even to the allergen cover,  a waste of time and a lot of money. I was going to donate to charity but then realized I wouldn't wish this horror on anyone. I'm now looking for another down comforter for winter but I fear buying one from TCS because so many reviews on so many products mention this problem. I'm very sad. My original comforter is superb. What happened to quality leak proof mfg TCS???
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
33 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Buy This Comforter
Date:August 9, 2015
By bbarb
from Hingham, MA
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I too have purchased comforters before from The Company Store and loved them.  That's why I went back to get this one. DO NOT BUY THIS COMFORTER!   It is terrible.  Feathers everywhere!  We thought after 3 weeks they would stop coming out.  It just got worse. Sent it back today. Wish I had read the other reviews before I bought it.  
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:65 and over
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for White Bay® Comforter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
Date:June 1, 2015
By Vanessa
from Kaneohe, HI
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been ordering comforters from here for years. I read the reviews before ordering this comforter but since I have loved all my other comforter from the company store I did not think the twice about the bad reviews about the feathers coming out.
I have had this comforter for 3 months and I have to wipe down my end tables every day because there are so many feathers that come out of the comforter. There are feathers all over the floor and even into the hall way from the bedroom. I will be returning this product.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:26-35
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
17 of 17 found this review helpful.