Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter

Down comforter. 300-thread count cotton goose down comforter. Stitched with 12” baffled square pockets to allow the optimum loft and prevent cold spots. 600-650 fill power goose down provides additional loft and warmth to give comforter a more luxurious feel. Down comforter available in medium warmth, extra warmth and ultra warmth in both regular and oversized. Choose white or ivory. Machine wash. Made in La Crosse, WI, of fine imported materials. Exclusively ours. Oeko-Tex certified to be free of all harmful substances and chemicals. Personalize: Monogram is located on the lower right corner Our duvet covers (sold separately) have corner ties that attach to comforter, holding it firmly in place.     Don't take our word for it: the luxurious 300-thread count Alberta Baffled goose down comforter was rated “Best Heavyweight Comforter” by Real Simple magazine. Here’s what they had to say: "For seriously cold climates or those who can never get warm. Filled with breathable goose down. Wider and longer than average, it's ideal for tossers, turners and blanket hogs.” The 600-650 fill power goose down provides additional loft and warmth to give this Alberta comforter a more luxurious feel. Soon enough, you’ll be giving this exceptional down comforter rave reviews of your own! Stitched with 12-inch baffled square pockets, this Alberta Baffled goose down comforter allows the optimum loft and prevents cold spots. Available in medium warmth, extra warmth and ultra warmth in both regular and oversized, this goose down comforter offers cozy comfort year-round. Exclusively ours, you’ll only find this goose down comforter at The Company Store.
Average Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Review 1 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warm
Date:March 15, 2014
By Aneohoh
from Michigan
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Alberta extra sized queen, 57 oz. on sale for 328.....I think I got a great buy.  
The only thing is:  It may be too warm.....but I do love it, and it's still winter here in Michigan
It is very puffy.  It is super warm.  I may have to use my old comforter during the summers though.
I don't think there is anyone or any store that has a better comforter than the company store.....the quality on this comforter is evident.  I understand that they won't be carrying this in the future....alll in all, I am pleased with my purchase ....
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:65 and over
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really warm and fluffy
Date:November 19, 2013
By Isle2Isle
from Pacific Northwest
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waited until it got a bit colder before writing this, since we bought the Alberta (extra down) in May. It’s definitely warm, and the feathers were fluffy from the start and have stayed in place around the entire duvet. Normally in winter we use a flannel fitted sheet for a bit of extra coziness, and even an extra comforter on top, but no need for that with the Alberta – it’s REALLY warm. I bought this specifically because of the corner ties, and that’s made a HUGE difference from other duvets we’ve owned (several over 30 years, all from The Company Store). We don’t have any “lean edges” where the comforter migrates into the middle. Before ordering I’d read about noise concerns, and yes at first the comforter did seem a bit loud when moving around under it - we’d never experienced that with other comforter covers – but the fabric has softened up with time and the sound is more normal now. (It seems the Alberta is made out of a tougher/stiffer fabric.) I will also say that in the first couple of months the comforter smelled like feathers, reminiscent of an old Army down sleeping bag we had in our family a long time ago, but that smell has gone away.
In summary, I gave this comforter a little time and it has proven to be another fine Company Store comforter! We still have every one we’ve ever purchased, and they come in handy for all the bedrooms and for lighter summer weight comforters when they do eventually thin out. After all these years I wouldn’t buy a down comforter anywhere else.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Duvet
Date:November 6, 2012
By SwimStar
from Albuquerque, NM
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this duvet to replace one that had lost all its loft (not from The Company Store).  I did a lot of research--I've been using duvets for over 25 years (my first was from The Company Store as they weren't widely available in stores then) because I don't like to make beds and love the lightness and warmth of duvets.  My husband and I are very happy with this duvet, it is lofty and very warm, but not too warm and not heavy..  We don't need super warmth in our climate but we don't heat our bedroom so need something warm enough and this is just what we were looking for.  We don't notice the noise mentioned by others but use a duvet cover instead of a top sheet and have been sleeping under down for most of our married life.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:65 and over
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good so far but check size of duvet cover first
Date:October 1, 2012
By Mia781
from Southern CA
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Ultra King size a year ago. It was expensive, so I've waited a while to review it. First, the noise seems only to be an issue when there is not a duvet cover on it. It is a little crunchy-sounding without it. Second, it doesn't quite fit the Sateen King duvet cover. I think the cover is too big for it and that is my major problem with the purchase of both the cover and the comforter. I'm not sure which item caused the problem (is the comforter too small or should I have ordered the oversize or what) but it drives me nuts because it does not lie flat on the bed when the cover is on and instead is an ill-fitting mess. However, it is warm and does the job. I do not live in a very cold climate but the houses here do not have heating so it can get chilly at night in the desert. Will figure out cover issue someday.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Product
Date:August 19, 2012
By Petunia
from Jackson, MS
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a different comforter and wasn't very happy.  This one was recommended to me and it is perfect. Wonderful  construction, fits great, and is nice and fluffy. I can hardly wait for it to get cold enough to use it.  Might have to get another for the guest bedroom.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:65 and over
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality for the price
Date:July 28, 2012
By sanmic
from Chicago, IL
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baffled stitched goose down comforter measures 110" x 98". This has plenty of overhang off my king size bed. The noise is not an issue for me at all. It lays beautifully on the bed and keeps me comfortable throughout the seasons. Thanks for the awesome deal!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:36-45
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fluffy Heaven
Date:April 30, 2012
By Bellerock
from Hanover, PA
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This duvet is wonderful ... I got the medium warmth and it is perfect. I have these on all my beds and everyone always says; "feels like heaven"!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, maybe keep looking
Date:January 4, 2012
By NapaReview
from Napa, CA
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I like the weight and coverage of this med weight comforter for my Northern CA nights (down to 35 outside), there are a couple of issues that keep me from loving it unconditionally. First, I had specifically NOT purchased the "oversized" size, thinking that I didn't want to be completely beholden to purchasing all future duvet covers from The Company Store. Turns out I should have checked the specs more closely. This thing is big, and big enough specifically length-wise that I'm having a really tough time finding a cover for it. That size means good coverage for me, but it means I can't use any of my existing comforter covers and can't find new ones. Second, it's loud. I know, that's weird, but truly, I was a hairs breath away from returning it after the first week of sleep disturbed by the slightest turn in bed. It's crinkly, like a plastic bag. Not quite as loud as that, but definitely perceptible. That hasn't toned down much, as I had hoped, but at least I've become more accustomed to it. You would think "rustle" would be an important consideration in the construction of an item used to sleep under.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stop looking... This is it!
Date:June 23, 2011
By KikiC
from Warren, NJ
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're researching down comforters, STOP! I've already done it. I think I've reviewed every online down comforter available. The best thing about this comforter is the 12" baffled squares. Most comforters are 16". The smaller squares mean that the down is less likely to shift and in deciding on a down comforter that was key for me. The comforter is fluffy and warm. Perfect! Comparatively the price is terrific.
Bedroom temperature:Medium - 65°F to 69°F
Age:36-45
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
135 of 137 found this review helpful.