Product Reviews

Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter

Down comforter. 300-thread count cotton goose down comforter. Stitched with 12” baffled square pockets to allow the optimum loft and prevent cold spots. 600-650 fill power goose down provides additional loft and warmth to give comforter a more luxurious feel. Down comforter available in medium warmth, extra warmth and ultra warmth in both regular and oversized. Choose white or ivory. Machine wash. Made in La Crosse, WI, of fine imported materials. Exclusively ours. Oeko-Tex certified to be free of all harmful substances and chemicals. Personalize: Monogram is located on the lower right corner Our duvet covers (sold separately) have corner ties that attach to comforter, holding it firmly in place.     Don't take our word for it: the luxurious 300-thread count Alberta Baffled goose down comforter was rated “Best Heavyweight Comforter” by Real Simple magazine. Here’s what they had to say: "For seriously cold climates or those who can never get warm. Filled with breathable goose down. Wider and longer than average, it's ideal for tossers, turners and blanket hogs.” The 600-650 fill power goose down provides additional loft and warmth to give this Alberta comforter a more luxurious feel. Soon enough, you’ll be giving this exceptional down comforter rave reviews of your own! Stitched with 12-inch baffled square pockets, this Alberta Baffled goose down comforter allows the optimum loft and prevents cold spots. Available in medium warmth, extra warmth and ultra warmth in both regular and oversized, this goose down comforter offers cozy comfort year-round. Exclusively ours, you’ll only find this goose down comforter at The Company Store.
Average Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Review 1 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super Warm Comforter!
Date:January 11, 2016
By RachO
from Schererville, Indiana
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this comforter about 2.5 years ago. It is super fluffy and has a lot of loft, which is what I was looking for. I use it year round and live in the midwest. It is an excellent comforter for the price. Originally I was looking at the Scandia Down comforters and found The Company Store Alberta Comforter is comparable and made by the same company! The one negative to it, is that it's loud. I know that sounds funny, but if you rustle the blanket around, it isn't very quiet. I could have upgraded and got the one with a silk cover, but I'm just not that fancy :)
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:26-35
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointing
Date:August 6, 2015
By Tdot
from New Brunswick, Canada
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can say I'm disappointed with my entire experience ordering from the Company Store.
I ordered the heaviest weight of the Alberta comforter with down filling, and since then tiny and not so tiny feathers have been leaking out all over my house. Ive grown up with down duvets and NEVER experienced anything like it.
This is on top of an initial error with my shipment, which caused considerable time and expense for me to rectify.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
22 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very disappointing
Date:June 5, 2015
By shib
from Washington DC
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As soon as I unpacked it, feathers were flying all over the room!  Have returned it, at my own expense (there is no return shipping for faulty goods).
Not a good experience.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Male
20 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Love With This Comforter!
Date:May 7, 2015
By Misty
from Waco, TX
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this comforter less than a month, so I can't attest to it's longevity, however, it feels amazing and I don't know how I went without it for so long. I initially ordered the Primaloft in Walnut and sent it back for the Alberta Driftwood. I feel like both colors are misrepresented on the site and in the catalog, as both are much lighter than they appear. The driftwood is a great neutral, light beige, but does not match with Company Store's "tan" accessories. The shell is super soft sateen and I'm not using a duvet cover because it's so incredibly soft. I got the heaviest warmth level in king size, but I don't feel like it's extremely lofty compared to the medium warmth I had originally ordered in the Primaloft. It's definitely not heavy and doesn't make you feel like you're sleeping under much more than airy fluff. Even in TX we keep the air on and will use this year round.. it's as if it is whatever the temperature needs it to be, warm when it's cold and cool when it's hot. Very happy with this comforter, I just wish the colors were more accurate upon initial ordering as to avoid having to return.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:36-45
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed.
Date:February 8, 2015
By Archie
from Tx
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In September 2015 after reading the reviews I decided to purchase this comforter.  Great color, fabric and light weight for the Texas winters, I was very pleased.  In January, I had watched a friends small dog and was concerned it might had lifted a leg on the corner, I read the instructions on the comforter and care instructions on line and felt comfortable throwing it into my Samsung Heavy Duty front load washer and dryer.   We dryed it for about 20 minutes on low and decided to finish drying it on the patio, it was a nice sunny January in Houston,  The majority of the down turned into a fine gray dust, which has covered my house, big mess!  I was ready to toss the comforter into the garbage when a friend suggested I call Company Store Customer Service, which I did tonight and spoke with a very kind young lady.  She told me that I wasn't suppose to wash it in the dryer, not correct, then I dryer it too long and distorted the down.  Ok, I said what are my options, send it back at my cost, a inspector will look at it and decide if I get nothing, some money back or a store credit.  
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
15 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredibly Soft and Warm!
Date:November 14, 2014
By MrsSmith2013
from New York
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this down comforter for our new king size bed and it's amazing! The fabric has a silky cool touch. I put the blanket in the dryer for about 10 minutes after we received it to give it a fluffing. When sleeping with this blanket we were at an optimal temperature all night. We stayed warm yet not overheated and the blanket felt light and fluffy, not bulky. We also ordered the oversized king which is great because it keeps any drafts from coming in from the side. Love all of your products!!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:26-35
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not thrilled.
Date:August 3, 2014
By frickzahn
from Connecticut
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased Alberta comforter queen-size extra-warmth.  I have purchased over five of this same comforter over the years, never had a problem.  But this comforter last ordered has a strange treatment to the cotton, kind of a glazed feel, which is different, and unpleasant, and very thin-feeling and insubstantial.  The comforter also smells like a barnyard, and continues, even after multiple shake-outs and sunbaths, to shed down feathers everywhere.  It's kind of awful.  Not recommended, there is far better value for the price elsewhere.  Avoid. 
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:36-45
Style:Country (casual with a slightly lived in look)
Gender:Male
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
meh
Date:August 1, 2014
By mmmm
from cleveland ohio
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The comforter in the color driftwood is actually much lighter than it appears online. So would have preferred it be darker, also the Legends Comforter in the color Walnut is much lighter than it appears online as well. Turns out that most dark colored fabrics aren't able to keep the down in the comforter so most comforters are white, but this one is a quality comforter. Just don't like the color and the fact it's darkened online. But it is light and comfortable for the minute I tested it out. The Legends Comforter I bought in the color Walnut was much lighter when it arrived than appeared online, they had FedEx pick it up at no cost to me which was nice, that's why I ordered another one from their site. I got the Alberta one in Driftwood, so I will probably send it back too. But they really need to show the true color of the comforters.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Warm but Leaked
Date:June 30, 2014
By LindsayS
from Chicago, IL
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to love this fluffy, warm, machine-washable comforter -I really did! Unfortunately, I am returning it though because it leaked feathers like CRAZY (much more than any comforter I have ever had). It leaked not from the seams but from all over the fabric. I'm very disappointed as I expected more from a product of this price and from this great store. The great news is that The Company Store gladly allowed me to return it with their 90 day return policy and even arranged for FEDEX to come pick it up. They have excellent customer service! I will be buying  a different comforter from them to see if it's any better.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just yummy
Date:May 14, 2014
By GetDownGetDown
from Pennsylvania Lehigh Valley
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After sleeping in a hotel with wonderfully light comforter, I decided to not buy from the hotel, but buy from the Company store, as I have done over decades.  Once again, the same excellent quality (I have a comforter from them over 20yrs old and pillows as well).  The alberta light was exactly what I experienced at a hotel. Light with enough warmth to fend off
the chill of air conditioning at night.  One note: ask for measurements.  The king size is HUGE! I am returning for a queen.  Also note: they have small down pillows for travel and I treated myself to one that I will put into a space bag. Customer service was excellent. A
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:56-65
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMAZING.
Date:April 30, 2014
By CindyMoe
from Iowa
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the sterling blue light comforter, and it is awesome.  The blue is gorgeous--almost a Tiffany blue, if you will.  I cannot stand polyester covers--they're scratchy and too hot--and this cotton sateen feels fabulous and breathes wonderfully..  Reminds me of some super luxurious down bedding we had in a Swedish hotel.  LOVE.  
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:26-35
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
32 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warm
Date:March 15, 2014
By Aneohoh
from Michigan
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Alberta extra sized queen, 57 oz. on sale for 328.....I think I got a great buy.  
The only thing is:  It may be too warm.....but I do love it, and it's still winter here in Michigan
It is very puffy.  It is super warm.  I may have to use my old comforter during the summers though.
I don't think there is anyone or any store that has a better comforter than the company store.....the quality on this comforter is evident.  I understand that they won't be carrying this in the future....alll in all, I am pleased with my purchase ....
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:65 and over
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
This review is fromAlberta™ Baffled Down Comforter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like sleeping in a warm, cozy cloud
Date:March 2, 2014
By Daffy4down
from Portland OR
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caution: gush alert. I am going to go on and on about my love for this comforter. My husband and I just received this down comforter after using the same down comforter x 15 years. We needed something warmer because our bedroom in our new house (100 yrs old) stays somewhat cool, so we bought the medium weight. This comforter is amazing. The baffle box construction allows the down to evenly spread and fill each 12x12 box. There are no spaces at all between the down pockets and therefore no cold spots. The baffle boxes also allow the down to puff up perfectly- it was fluffed up and perfect for sleeping 6 hours after taking it out of the package. I just want to emphasize the "baffle box" construction is the bomb. When the pockets are sewn through the outer material (the way many other comforters are made), the down can't quite spread out all the way. The material covering this comforter is beautiful and I did not notice it being loud like some other reviewers. Down comforter material has to be a little different because it needs to be "down proof"- you don't want the down squeezing out, which it does not in this comforter. We bought the sterling blue, which is a beautiful color. PLUS, it is machine washable (in large front loader). PLUS, the cover is oeko-tex certified. PLUS, if you don't like it for some reason, you can return it to TCS- it has a lifetime guarantee. This comforter has made me a top fan of TCS- because of the thought they put into how to make this comfy and safe; the customer service I received when researching the comforters; and because they stand behind their products- many of them have a lifetime guarantee (including this one). BOTTOM LINE: stop looking, buy it. It is like sleeping in a warm, cozy cloud. (PS- I am 44 yrs old and this is the first product review I have ever written- that's how in love I am)
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
93 of 96 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really warm and fluffy
Date:November 19, 2013
By Isle2Isle
from Pacific Northwest
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waited until it got a bit colder before writing this, since we bought the Alberta (extra down) in May. It’s definitely warm, and the feathers were fluffy from the start and have stayed in place around the entire duvet. Normally in winter we use a flannel fitted sheet for a bit of extra coziness, and even an extra comforter on top, but no need for that with the Alberta – it’s REALLY warm. I bought this specifically because of the corner ties, and that’s made a HUGE difference from other duvets we’ve owned (several over 30 years, all from The Company Store). We don’t have any “lean edges” where the comforter migrates into the middle. Before ordering I’d read about noise concerns, and yes at first the comforter did seem a bit loud when moving around under it - we’d never experienced that with other comforter covers – but the fabric has softened up with time and the sound is more normal now. (It seems the Alberta is made out of a tougher/stiffer fabric.) I will also say that in the first couple of months the comforter smelled like feathers, reminiscent of an old Army down sleeping bag we had in our family a long time ago, but that smell has gone away.
In summary, I gave this comforter a little time and it has proven to be another fine Company Store comforter! We still have every one we’ve ever purchased, and they come in handy for all the bedrooms and for lighter summer weight comforters when they do eventually thin out. After all these years I wouldn’t buy a down comforter anywhere else.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Duvet
Date:November 6, 2012
By SwimStar
from Albuquerque, NM
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this duvet to replace one that had lost all its loft (not from The Company Store).  I did a lot of research--I've been using duvets for over 25 years (my first was from The Company Store as they weren't widely available in stores then) because I don't like to make beds and love the lightness and warmth of duvets.  My husband and I are very happy with this duvet, it is lofty and very warm, but not too warm and not heavy..  We don't need super warmth in our climate but we don't heat our bedroom so need something warm enough and this is just what we were looking for.  We don't notice the noise mentioned by others but use a duvet cover instead of a top sheet and have been sleeping under down for most of our married life.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:65 and over
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good so far but check size of duvet cover first
Date:October 1, 2012
By Mia781
from Southern CA
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Ultra King size a year ago. It was expensive, so I've waited a while to review it. First, the noise seems only to be an issue when there is not a duvet cover on it. It is a little crunchy-sounding without it. Second, it doesn't quite fit the Sateen King duvet cover. I think the cover is too big for it and that is my major problem with the purchase of both the cover and the comforter. I'm not sure which item caused the problem (is the comforter too small or should I have ordered the oversize or what) but it drives me nuts because it does not lie flat on the bed when the cover is on and instead is an ill-fitting mess. However, it is warm and does the job. I do not live in a very cold climate but the houses here do not have heating so it can get chilly at night in the desert. Will figure out cover issue someday.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Product
Date:August 19, 2012
By Petunia
from Jackson, MS
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a different comforter and wasn't very happy.  This one was recommended to me and it is perfect. Wonderful  construction, fits great, and is nice and fluffy. I can hardly wait for it to get cold enough to use it.  Might have to get another for the guest bedroom.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:65 and over
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality for the price
Date:July 28, 2012
By sanmic
from Chicago, IL
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baffled stitched goose down comforter measures 110" x 98". This has plenty of overhang off my king size bed. The noise is not an issue for me at all. It lays beautifully on the bed and keeps me comfortable throughout the seasons. Thanks for the awesome deal!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:36-45
Style:Traditional (classic lines and livable colors)
Gender:Female
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fluffy Heaven
Date:April 30, 2012
By Bellerock
from Hanover, PA
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This duvet is wonderful ... I got the medium warmth and it is perfect. I have these on all my beds and everyone always says; "feels like heaven"!
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Frequently
Age:46-55
Style:Eclectic (mix of styles)
Gender:Female
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alberta™ Baffled Goose Down Comforter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, maybe keep looking
Date:January 4, 2012
By NapaReview
from Napa, CA
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I like the weight and coverage of this med weight comforter for my Northern CA nights (down to 35 outside), there are a couple of issues that keep me from loving it unconditionally. First, I had specifically NOT purchased the "oversized" size, thinking that I didn't want to be completely beholden to purchasing all future duvet covers from The Company Store. Turns out I should have checked the specs more closely. This thing is big, and big enough specifically length-wise that I'm having a really tough time finding a cover for it. That size means good coverage for me, but it means I can't use any of my existing comforter covers and can't find new ones. Second, it's loud. I know, that's weird, but truly, I was a hairs breath away from returning it after the first week of sleep disturbed by the slightest turn in bed. It's crinkly, like a plastic bag. Not quite as loud as that, but definitely perceptible. That hasn't toned down much, as I had hoped, but at least I've become more accustomed to it. You would think "rustle" would be an important consideration in the construction of an item used to sleep under.
How often do you shop at The Company Store?Rarely
Age:36-45
Style:Contemporary (modern with clean lines)
Gender:Female
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
12next>>